Wild Hunt Festival Q&A
Welcome to the Kradia: Wild Hunt Festival Q&A page! Below you will find player-submitted questions and text clarifications for our JRPG board game!
You can submit a question to us via social media, Discord, or by clicking here.
Ancient Golem (Story Mode)
Q: For the Ancient Golem, what does the boss icon mean in his Rage effect?
A: It means the boss and the party lose HP equal to the number of boss attack dice.
Q: What does "Boss Rage Effect icon +2" mean?
A: That means that the boss's Rage marker is immediately moved to the left two spaces upon activation of the Battlefield effect.
Q: What does "Boss Attack (lock icon) 8" mean?
A: That means that the boss's attack roll is locked at a result of 8, and they must perform whatever attack corresponds with a roll result of 8.
Q: In the Moon column, for "Start Player + red mana/blue mana," do I get 1 mana of each color, or do I have to choose which one I'd like?
A. You have to choose; you only get 1 mana--not 1 of each color.
Q: For the Battlefield board, if you draw the sun first, do you pick which way it goes?
A. There are three icons (Sun/Moon/Star) at the top of the Battlefield board that represent the various battle routes. If you draw the Sun first, you'll need to put a token on top of the Sun icon to indicate that you're on the Sun route. On the second turn, you'll draw from the remaining two cards (which will be the Moon and Star cards) to determine your path for that turn.
Q: For Battlefield Effects that lock the boss's attack, which takes precedence: The Battlefield Effect, or the Boss's HP track (For instance: the Bloodsoaked Furzerker at 5 HP locks the attack on the 15 roll, but the Battlefield said lock the attack on 8. Which do I use?)
A. The Battlefield effect always takes priority.
Boss Attack Buff Track
Q: Does the Boss Attack Buff track Activation occur when the boss' attack roll only causes an ailment and doesn't do any damage?
Q: Does the Boss Attack Buff track Activation occur when the boss does damage as a result of a rage skill?
A: No. The Buff track only applies to Boss dice-roll attacks.
Q: Does the Boss Attack Buff track Activation apply the enhanced damage when attacking multiple targets? For example, Alaminos' 4-6 Gale Pitch: if the boss' attack buff was at +3, would it then deal 5 damage to FP and 1 damage to [etc], or would it deal 5 damage to FP and 4 damage to [etc]?
A: The Boss ATK Buff is effective for the whole attack action. For Alaminos's 4-6 Gale Pitch specifically: if the boss's attack buff was at +3, it deals 5 damage to the Start Player and 4 damage to [etc].
Q: I'm not sure how the boss attack buff track works. For instance, if it is at +2, and the boss makes an attack that only puts status effects on the party, does that mean he also inflicts 2 damage to all the party members even if no damage was supposed to be dealt? Or is it only when he makes damage with an attack that this buff track takes effect?
A: For the Boss Attack Buff track, the damage increase effect only applies to those attacks that inflict damage. If the attack would only cause some sort of status effect, it wouldn't inflict any damage. Thus, the Boss Attack Buff is dismissed after any kind of dice-rolled boss attack action.
Q: If the Battlefield effect for Rage causes Rage to trigger, does Rage happen immediately and then reset for the round? Does excess Rage wrap around, or does the Rage simply sit there until it triggers in the proper phase, wasting any excess?
A: If the Battlefield effect for Rage causes Rage to trigger, Rage happens immediately, meaning the boss attack action can happen during the Battlefield phase. After this action, the boss Rage track will reset and carry on to the player action phase. Then, after the boss attack (the dice roll), the Rage track increases by 1.
Q: If a hero has had their Buff Track moved to +1 or above, if they do not attack, does the buff remain until they use their next basic attack? Also, does this buff apply to Charge Attacks, or just Basic Attacks?
A: Yes, the ATK buff will remain until their next Basic Attack. And no, the buff only applies to Basic Attacks.
Q: If you don't have a way to heal it, does it just stay on forever (basically counting you as having a retired character that's causing damage to you?)
A: Yes, if you don't have a way to heal it, the status stays in play indefinitely unless you are inflicted with a new status ailment. For instance, if you were confused but then Sleep was cast on you, Sleep would take Confusion's place.
Fading and Retired Heroes
Q: Can a retired hero be resurrected with the Battlefield effect that says "restore Fading hero"?
A: Yes, a hero who's retired from battle can be resurrected from Fading by Battlefield effects. All healing effects that include "restore Fading hero" can resurrect retired heroes.
Q: Do retired heroes stay "dead" after battles are over? If not, do they enter the next battle in retired status and require that “restore Fading hero” to recover? Or are they put back to 1 HP at the start of the next boss battle?
A: In Story Mode, retired heroes remain in Fading status after a battle concludes. In the next battle, retired heroes can recover and re-enter combat via “restore Fading hero" effects. That being said, if players have an "Elixir" in their possession, they can use that in the preparation stage between battles to help a hero recover.
Q: When using a skill that targets another ally (ie. Galateo's Noire Putrefaction and Elizabeth's March of the Nameless), if the targeted ally were suffering from Stun or Sleep, would the skill's effects still apply?
A: Even if the target is suffering from Stun or Sleep (those ailments that skip a player's actions), skill effects (such as healing/mana gain/ATK buff, etc.) still apply. However, this would not be the case for skills that grant an ally an action, since the target is already in a state that prohibits actions.
Q: For any skills that say "Choose 1 hero," can you target yourself or can you only choose another hero in the party?
A: You can choose anyone in the party as the target, including yourself, for skills that state "Choose 1 hero."
Q: I know that items can still be used while stunned, but can they be used while inflicted with Sleep or Confusion?
A: Yes, items can be used even when inflicted with these debuffs.
Killer Rabbit (Story Mode)
Q: What's Soul Hunt on Bloodthirsty Reaper do?
A: It recovers X HP, where "X" equals the amount of red+blue mana the Start Player currently has.
Q: How does shadow dimension for Kunne work?
A: Shadow Dimension allows you to convert one set of mana to any other set of mana.
Q: Kunne's Lv.1 skill: if you attack on the first extra turn and roll a 3 or 6 to gain evasion, does that evasion wear off at the start of the second turn?
A: The evasion buff only lasts for a single turn.
Limugia (Challenge Mode)
Q: Can you help explain to me Limugia EX's Overdrive ability?
A: The effect of Limugia EX's Over Drive ability is that she only takes X damage that round where "X" is equal to her current Rage counter value. So, if Limugia's Rage counter is at 3, she can't take more than 3 damage that round. That is to say, if a hero attacked her for 3 damage, she would effectively be invincible for the rest of the round.
Limugia (Story Mode)
Q: What happens to Apostle of Chaos's Rage effect if the Start Player already has less than 5 HP to begin with?
A: If the Start Player has less than 5 HP, their HP will change to 5 because of the skill effect.
Q: How does Luka's second ability work? Does it reflect the damage?
A: For Luka's second ability, he absorbs the damage caused to the Start Player (once) and then reflects that amount of damage to the boss. The absorbed damage can be reduced by his special ability <Clockwork knight> effect (-1 received damage per number of knights). Damage that is directly inflicted on Luka does not activate the reflect effect even though the damage is stemming from the same attack.
Q: Receiving red or blue mana during enhancement: Do you get the color based on where the monster's health is before your attack or after? The wording in the rulebook makes it sound like it's after, but I just wanted to double check.
A: The color of mana that the hero gains is based on the monster's HP after the attack.
Q: When playing Matoredo, can I use a Basic Attack the same turn that I use Survival Recipe?
A: No, you cannot use Survival Recipe and then use a Basic Attack on the same turn.
Q: For Matoredo, if on your next turn you don’t have the mana to activate Call of Nature, will he have to forfeit his action that turn? Can he still use items on that turn?
A: If Matoredo has no mana to activate Call of Nature, he forfeits his action that turn; he can still use items, though. Generally speaking, items can be used most of the time even if your hero is suffering from ailments that restrict player actions.
Q: Can you choose to pass?
A: No. You may only pass your turn if you are unable to perform any kind of battle action due to Stun/Sleep/etc.